CONTACT US 07395 308 806

Board of Trustees

The ACT Trustees have overall responsibility for financial and legal affairs and for directing the strategy of the charity. The Board of Trustees ensure ACT:

  • complies with its governing document, charity law and any other relevant legislation or regulations
  • pursues its objectives as defined in the ACT governing document
  • applies its resources exclusively in pursuance of its objectives
  • is effectively and efficiently administered as an organisation
  • is financially stable as an organisation.
  • The Board of Trustees normally meet 3 times a year.

Composition of the Board

The Board comprises a Chair, Vice Chair, a Treasurer and up to 8 other Trustees. The Trustees include individuals with specialist knowledge, skills and experience of value to the association. Trustees are appointed following an application process which is advertised.

All members of the Board are voluntary and attract no financial reward.

Our trustees

Scott Harrison (Chair of Trustees)

Scott was a teacher of history and politics, LEA adviser, Chief Examiner (history) and textbook author before becoming an HMI in 1990. Scott represented Ofsted on the Citizenship Advisory Group chaired by Professor (Sir) Bernard Crick and was the specialist adviser for citizenship at Ofsted until his retirement in 2009. He was responsible for the inspection survey of citizenship in schools and also for inspection of citizenship initial teacher education and continuing professional development. He now works as an education consultant. Scott joined the ACT Board of Trustees in 2013.

Rob Pope (Vice Chair of Trustees)

Rob has extensive experience of post-16 education as a teacher and manager and in national staff training and curriculum development roles. For seven years he was Development Manager for the Post-16 Citizenship Support Programme. Prior to that Rob taught sociology and citizenship studies at Richmond-upon-Thames College, where he was also Head of Department and managed a pilot programme on active citizenship. Rob is a founder and director of Active Citizens FE, a new support network for staff involved with citizenship education, social action and learner voice in post-16 education.  Rob joined the ACT Board of Trustees in 2013.

Gordon Mattocks (Treasurer)

Gordon is a retired CIPFA qualified accountant, who specialised in public sector finance, internal audit and risk management. He currently sits on the boards of a women’s college, a housing association and the housing internal audit trade association. Gordon also sits on the audit committees of another housing association and the trade association for midwives. He represents the housing sector on the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy technical Audit Panel. Gordon became a trustee and treasurer for ACT in 2012.

Marcus Bhargava

Marcus is Head of School of Education at Kingston University London and a member of the University’s Senior Leadership Group. He has strategic responsibility for all areas of the School’s work, including its course portfolio, research and its partnerships with schools, government and industry. He is a former London secondary school teacher of history, politics and citizenship and led one of the first discrete citizenship departments in England. He has been a member of two subject expert panels for national curriculum citizenship and led a three year exemplification of standards in citizenship project for QCDA. From 2007-2013, he led a Citizenship PGCE at London Metropolitan University. Marcus continues to write and research in the subject area. Marcus joined the ACT Board of Trustees in 2019.

Sarah Maclean

Sarah has worked in a range of public sector roles ranging from legal aid policy to leading the team responsible for including citizenship education into the National Curriculum. Since then she has worked on a wide range of education policies such as examination reforms, schools building projects and vocational education. For the last three years Sarah was Deputy Director for UK Governance at the Cabinet Office. She is currently Director of Strategy and Governance at the Equalities and Human Rights Commission. Sarah has job shared for over ten years and supports flexible working. She is a primary school governor. Sarah joined the ACT Board of Trustees in 2019.

Helen Shreeve

Helen has more than 25 years' experience in editorial and senior leadership roles at the BBC, including 10 setting up and leading BBC News School Report – a journalism project involving half of UK secondary schools. She has also worked for two MPs, was a local councillor in London and has led two youth charities – one as Chair and the other as Managing Director. Helen joined the ACT Board of Trustees in 2017.

Stay Connected
Association for Citizenship Teaching © 2018 UK | All rights reserved